Criminal Law Issues in Los Angeles on the Rise
Crime in Los Angeles has increased since the Covid-19 pandemic began. Policing has been significantly handicapped by reported corruption within the Los Angeles Police Department. If you are suspected of committing a crime and make the wrong statement, you could be facing significant criminal fines or prison time. However, every American has a Constitutional right to an attorney if they are accuse of a crime. Below are some common criminal charges in Los Angeles:
Criminal assault in California is defined as an unlawful attempt, coupled with a present ability, to commit a violent injury on the person of another. Criminal assault is considered a “wobbler,” meaning that the crime can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the prosecutor. A misdemeanor assault is punishable up to a year in prison while a felony carries a maximum penalty of up to four years in prison. Be sure to speak with an attorney if you are accused of a violent assault.
Vehicular manslaughter is a serious crime in any major city, including Los Angeles. Vehicular manslaughter is defined in California as operating a vehicle while engaging in an unlawful and/or negligent manner which ultimately causes the death of another person. The maximum punishment for vehicular manslaughter in California is 6 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000. A convicted defendant is also subject to have his or her driver’s license suspended or revoked. The sentence may be greater if the vehicular manslaughter is committed while the defendant was intoxicated. Be sure to speak with an attorney if you are accused of an automobile death.
Property crimes have increased in Los Angeles since the pandemic has receded. Property crimes include all forms of larceny, including but not limited to burglary, robbery, and motor vehicle theft. The potential sentences for property crimes scale with the severity of the crimes. Criminal fines may be imposed and prison time may range from a few days to a couple of decades. There are potential defenses to property crimes so consult with an attorney if you are accused of a property crime.
The age of consent in California is 18 years of age. California prohibits sex between individuals younger than 18 years of age and individuals who are at least three years older. Statutory rape in California may carry a sentence of up to 3 years in state prison or 4 years if the defendant was over 21 years of age and the victim was under 16. It may be in your best interest to discuss with an attorney if you are accused of statutory rape.
Do I Need an Attorney for a Criminal Law Issue in Los Angeles?
If you have been the victim of a crime, you should call the police immediately. A criminal prosecutor may be able to assist in punishing the wrongdoer. You may also wish to contact a civil attorney to assist you in filing a civil suit against the accused.
If you are a criminal defendant or suspect, you should contact a local criminal defense attorney in Los Angeles. An attorney can defend your rights and interests and will know the best strategies to help you get the best outcome possible in your case. With criminal charges, access to a criminal defense attorney is your right.