3 of the Top Criminal Law Issues in North New Jersey
New Jersey overall has one of the lowest crime rates in the country. However, even in New Jersey there are serious types of crimes that citizens are accused of. If you are suspected of committing a crime and make the wrong mistake, you could be facing significant fines or even time in prison. However, every American has a Constitutional right to an attorney if they are accuse of a crime. Below are some common criminal charges in New Jersey:
Property crimes are one of the most common charged crimes in New Jersey. Property crimes include simple shoplifting but may also include burglary, robbery, and motor vehicle theft. The potential sentences for property crimes scale with the severity of the crimes. Criminal fines may be imposed and prison time may range from a few days to a couple of decades. There are potential defenses to property crimes so consult with an attorney if you are accused of a property crime.
Vehicular manslaughter is a serious crime in any state, including New Jersey. Vehicular manslaughter is defined in New Jersey as driving recklessly, or with a conscious disregard of a substantial and unjustifiable risk that death would result while driving. The maximum punishment for vehicular manslaughter in New Jersey is 10 years in state prison and a fine of up to $200,000. A convicted defendant is also subject to have his or her driver’s license suspended or even revoked. The sentence may be greater if the vehicular manslaughter is committed while the defendant was intoxicated. Be sure to speak with an attorney if you are accused of an automobile death.
The age of consent in New Jersey is 16 years of age. New Jersey prohibits sex between individuals younger than 16 years of age and individuals who are at least four years older. Unlike many other states, New Jersey doesn’t have an explicit statutory rape law, though sex with a minor is still illegal as a form of criminal sexual contact. Statutory rape in New Jersey may carry a sentence of up to five years in state prison and a criminal fine of up to $15,000. It may be in your best interest to discuss with an attorney if you are accused of statutory rape.
Do I Need an Attorney for a Criminal Law Issue in North New Jersey?
If you have been the victim of a crime, you should call the police immediately. A criminal prosecutor may be able to assist in punishing the wrongdoer. You may also wish to contact a civil attorney to assist you in filing a civil suit against the accused. A local criminal defense attorney in North New Jersey can defend your rights and interests and will know the best strategies to help you get the best outcome possible in your case. With criminal charges, access to a criminal defense attorney is your right.